euro coins and charts

euro coins and charts, © picture alliance / Klaus Öhlenschläger

07.05.2019 - Article

The Finance Department has the following responsibilities:

European financial policy:

  • Joint Economic and monetary policy (e.g. Stability and Growth Pact)
  • Economic situation and financial stability of the EU and the euro area
  • Horizontal financial issues and financial aspects of the EU's external relations

European tax policy:

  • Direct taxation: in particular taxation of savings and company taxation
  • Indirect taxes, in particular VAT, excise duty, energy tax
  • Cooperation between tax administrations of the Member States

European budgetary policy:

  • Annual budgetary procedure
  • Financial Regulation
  • Multiannual Financial Framework (MFF)

European customs policy:

  • EU customs legislation and policy
  • Cooperation between customs administrations of the Member States

Relations to non-EU-states:

  • EU cooperation with Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein and Switzerland as part of EFTA or EEA, Andorra, San Marino and Monaco
  • Ultra Peripheral Regions
  • EU pre-accession and external assistance programs (IPA II, ENI and NIF)

European financial market policy:

  • Basic Issues of EU financial integration
  • Basic Issues of EU financial stability
  • EU financial market harmonization in the banking, insurance and securities and investment nature
  • EU legislation on payments
  • EU legislation to combat money laundering, terrorist financing and other forms of financial crime

Head of department: Nicole Rosin

Top of page